They say to live your life through positive thoughts and positive actions.

Therefore, I have decided to approach my upcoming 30th birthday with optimistic enthusiasm. I must confess that it is not easy. I find myself looking back at my twenties, reluctant to say goodbye. My twenties and I, we have had some good times, some hard times, all of them precious times. But as they say, “move onward and forward”, “the best of times are ahead of you”, “it only gets better from here”, blah blah blah. So here I go: being positive. And one way to help me accomplish this attitude is to document the last days of my twenties. As I approach the big day, I will come up with one reason each day for why my 30th birthday is a cause for celebration and anticipation. So we go:

unhappy birthday

30 DAYS TIL 30: Reflections on Why It’s Awesome to Be Turning Thirty

DAY 30: Monday, May 25, 2009

Reason #1 Why It’s Awesome to Be Turning Thirty – I Still Get Carded at Bars

It’s really nothing new. I’ve been dealing with this since I was 21 and I tried to buy some beer at the CoHo and the guy behind the counter refused to believe that I was legal.

“I’m going to give it to you anyway,” he said, barely glancing at my driver’s license. “Just tell me, how old are you really?”

“I’m really 21.”

“No really. How old are you for real?”

“I’m 21!” I protested.

“Uh, huh.”

“I’m serious! I’m graduating next month! I’m almost 22!”

The guy gave me a look and I grabbed my beer and hurried away, feeling lucky that I was able to escape with the goods. So, as you can see, my youthful appearance as been sometimes amusing, sometimes annoying and I’ve been dealing with it in the last few years with an increasing habit of rolling my eyes.

But now, the next time someone cards me, I’m going to be all, “Hell yeah! That’s what I’m talking about.”

Positive Thought: Being mistaken for younger than I am is now a HUGE Compliment. Older me will take what I can get.

